widdle bitty apple pies

 

do i have your attention?

 

The other night, Preston, Jeff, and I were all sitting around in the living room, Facebook-stalking various people and watching Maury or something. Struck by 2 a.m. boredom but not yet ready to go to bed, I wandered in the kitchen and began gazing at my latest kitchen acquisition: six beautiful, white, silicone muffin cups

Though I love muffins, I’ve been recovering from muffin overdose the past few days. So I decided to try something new. I whipped up some pate brisee (standard pastry dough), lined my (wonderful, gorgeous, fantastic) muffin cups with it, threw in some chopped apples, and put more dough on top. The result? Take a look:

For some food, the picture is better than the taste. This is not true for these widdle bitty apple pies. The crust is as flaky and buttery as it looks. The filling is about ten million times better than that processed junk that comes in a can. I made six, expecting to eat one for breakfast tomorrow since no one was very hungry. All of them were gone in about three minutes.

Also, can I just talk about silicone for a moment? This stuff is magic. Besides their affect on boobs, silicone doesn’t stick to your food, can withstand crazy hot temperatures, and is the easiest thing in the world to clean. I actually WANTED to clean more of these because they cleaned so easily. Little-known fact: when Prometheus stole fire from the gods, he also yoinked their silicone stash to share with humanity. When I took these widdle bitty apple pies out of the oven, the muffin cups peeled right off. I’m in love.

So that’s my late night/very early morning cooking story of the day. Enjoy!

Recipe:
Pate Brisee –
1 1/4 c. flour
1/2 t. salt
1 1/2 t. sugar
1/2 c. butter
some ice-water
Filling –
apples
cinnamon Sugar
that’s it!

Pre-heat your oven at 400. Throw everything except the ice water in a food processor and process until it’s powdery but still has some centimeter-size chunks. Sloooowly add in a little bit of ice water at a time as the food processor is running, until most of your dough has turned into a single ball. If you add too much water (your dough will be sticky), add a bit more flour. Stick the dough in the fridge. After a while (about 20-30 minutes) take it out and line your muffin liners with it. Add chopped up apples and top with cinnamon sugar (about 1/4 t. for each pie). Top with the dough, cut a few holes in the top layer of dough, sprinkle with a little more cinnamon sugar. Bake for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to widdle bitty apple pies

  1. Brianna says:

    Just in case you were wondering, yes, I am going to leave comments on all of your blog posts until I leave for Italy.
    These are BEAUTIFUL!!! I want silicon cups. lol.
    I grew up with homemade pies but very few people make them anymore, even around Thanksgiving so kudos to you for bringing pie back into the American kitchen.

  2. Denise says:

    Can I please have one? Now please?? If you start now they’ll be ready by the time I arrive. I’m on the way….Mom

  3. Betty Crocker says:

    The Chef warned me about you.

  4. jeffrey says:

    it was like god touched these muffins with his apple hands

  5. rachel kutler says:

    SALIVATING you should pack up a little snack pack for me and brianna and we’ll stop by your apartment on our way to houston to italy…pwease? THESE LOOK INCREDIBLE; you are amazing!

  6. Preston's Mom says:

    I agree with the previous reply, You are Amazing!
    You left us with full bellies and happy hearts!

  7. Pingback: peach-strawberry-basil pie and the AFBA! | The First Kitchen

Leave a Reply

