northern lights, boca burgers, and other unsolvable mysteries

After I begged him for an entire semester, Preston finally accompanied me to TerraBurger, a local, organic, natural burger joint a few blocks away. This place is planet-friendly, healthy, and most importantly, mega delicious. I ordered a veggie burger; he ordered a cheeseburger. He asked to try a bite of my burger, then made a face, claiming that he likes Boca burgers better “because they taste more like meat.”

… WHAT.

I admit, I’ve eaten Boca burgers before. They’re an easy, quick source of protein if you’re not eating meat. But what I love about veggie burgers is that they are made out of vegetables. I eat lots of vegetables, not because I hate meat, but because vegetables are delicious… and Boca burgers do not taste like vegetables. And what the hell is even in Boca burgers? Why are they so brown? Why are the first two ingredients cardboard and Japanese newspaper? All of these questions led me to attempt to make my own veggie burgers.

So one afternoon I whipped out the food processor and got to work. I dressed the burgers in dijon mustard, mozzarella, avocado, and sprouts; arugula would have also been a great addition. I also mixed together some broccoli, fresh green beans, olive oil, salt, and pepper and threw them in a 425° oven for about ten minutes.

veggie burgers with roasted broccoli and green beans

They were phenomenal. Even ever-skeptical Preston thought they were far better than fake-meat Boca patties. The roasted veggies were also a success (Preston called them “green bean fries”). The best part? They’re cheaper than pre-made veggie burgers, healthy, easy, quick, and delicious — perfect for a poor college student like me.

Homemade Garden Burgers (Makes 12)

2 1/2 c. garbanzo beans
4 eggs
salt, pepper, and cayenne to taste
1/2 c. chopped cilantro
1 onion, chopped
1 c. sprouts, chopped
1/3 c. sunflower seeds
1 c. breadcrumbs

Throw the garbanzo beans, eggs, salt, pepper, and cayenne in the food processor and blend until somewhat smooth, somewhat chunky — just eyeball it. Transfer into a bowl and mix in the rest of the ingredients. Form 12 patties. Heat a little olive oil in a pan on medium heat, and place 4 patties at a time in the pan. Cover and let cook for 8-10 minutes. Once the bottoms are browned, flip them over, cover, and let cook another 8-10 minutes.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to northern lights, boca burgers, and other unsolvable mysteries

  1. The Burger King says:

    The fast-food industry has entered a state of crisis.

  2. aletheiazoe says:

    OK I’m so confused ~ what’s a Boca burger?!

    Your garden veggie burgers look tasty. I also love that they can be batch-frozen — perfect for mid-term season!! Ha!

  3. Brianna says:

    I was also confused about what a Boca Burger is…in fact, the reason why I love this post is because veggie burgers are a TOTAL mystery to me. Similar to you Natalie, I’m a carnivore but I love veggies. I’ll definitely be making this next semester.

Leave a Reply

