chipotle sour cream veggie enchiladas

Disclaimer: There are no gorgeous photographs of this meal because it wasn’t supposed to be a blog post. The recipe, however, ended up being so delicious that I couldn’t help but post it. Bear with me.

One of my favorite past-times is grocery shopping. I know, I know. Call me weird (please don’t, I’m sensitive), but I love strolling down each and every aisle (except cleaning supplies and dog food — gross), slowly, just looking at everything. The bulk aisle just makes things worse. I can spend at least 20 minutes there. Bulghur? Don’t mind if I do. Pearl couscous? Sure! And this is just for the neighborhood grocery store. Do not get me started on Whole Foods.

Unfortunately, I am poor. I am a college student. I judge high school debate tournaments during the school year, but during the summer I live off the meager savings I’ve tucked away from Subway paychecks. Don’t get me wrong — I’m incredibly blessed to have a great apartment; I go to a wonderful school; I can afford to feed myself. However, I’ve recently realized that I can’t keep spending so much money on groceries (to clarify, Preston told me to stop spending so much money on groceries).

So, in order to try to cut down on expenses and also to stay true to the blog’s theme of cooking in college, I’m going to start pricing the recipes. Does this mean I will make fewer baked goods? Um, get real. Does it mean I will spend less time at the grocery store? Again, please be serious. Does it mean I will share recipes that are inexpensive and delicious, such as these chipotle sour cream vegetarian enchiladas? Why yes it does!


Chipotle Sour Cream Veggie Enchiladas, adapted. Approximately $7; serves 4-5.

1 c. sour cream or plain yogurt
2 t. chipotle chiles canned in adobo
1 1/4 t. salt
12 corn tortillas
2 onions, chopped
2 bell peppers, chopped
2 zucchini, chopped
2 peppers, chopped
2 more T. chipotle chiles canned in adobo
1 T. lime juice
1/2 t. black pepper
2 T. olive oil
1 c. cheddar cheese, shredded

In small bowl, combine sour cream, 1/4 t. salt, and 2 t. of the chipotle chiles. If there are whole chipotle peppers, get a teaspoon of the adobo sauce and chop up one pepper. Cover and refrigerate.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Wrap tortillas in tin foil and heat in oven for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, in large bowl, combine onions, bell peppers, zucchini, peppers, chipotle chiles with adobo, salt, and pepper. Mix until well blended. In large skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add vegetables in batches and cook, stirring often and adding more oil if necessary, until tender (it’s better to undercook the veggies than overcook them). Every few minutes, pour the excess liquid in the pan into a bowl and reserve it. It’s okay if a few veggies fall into it. When the veggies are cooked, add lime juice and mix well. Fill each tortilla with some of the mixture and a little cheese, then roll it up and place it in a pan. Mix the liquid from the vegetables with the sour cream mixture. Spoon over the enchiladas and sprinkle cheese over the top. Bake for 10 minutes just to melt the cheese.

Jeff, Jackson, and Preston. Also my bamboo plant. By the way, will you check out that awesome bookshelf? It's the newest addition to the Liu-Stolte-San Luis household.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in entree and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to chipotle sour cream veggie enchiladas

  1. LOOK Model Agency says:

    I must sign that beautiful Asian man NOW

  2. Pingback: groceries | The First Kitchen

Leave a Reply

