it’s freakin’ cupcake time

graham crack cocaine

This post is kind of going to be PG, so if you have young children in the room, right now might be a good time to send them to bed or tell them to go clean their room. Because I am mad. I am about 125% PO’d. Do you ever get that feeling that the rest of the world is conspiring against you? Like everyone and everything is just giving you the finger? YEAH ME TOO.

I started summer classes on Tuesday (I’m taking Spanish… 3 hours a day… EVERY DAY). And due to my inability to navigate the bus system, I ended up walking home (2 miles) through traffic in the summer heat. As I was approaching my apartment, two of the buses I was looking for passed me by.

Then again, that’s not that bad. The real kicker: this morning I decided to ride another bus to class. The bus got to my stop late (of course) and I was the only one riding. About 3 minutes before my class started, the bus driver pulls over to the side of the road, gives me a shifty look, grabs some change, and RUNS OFF THE BUS. I am a mile away from my school and the bus driver has jumped ship. Eventually he re-boards the bus with a cup of coffee … the nerve … three minutes after my class has already started.

“But Natalie,” you ask, “Why don’t you just drive your 2001 silver Volvo, aptly named The Renegade, to school?” OH I DIDN’T MENTION! I GOT A FLAT TIRE! That’s right… another flat tire. That’s all four in one year… and TWO in ONE WEEK. I apologize for all the caps lock. But I. Am. Mad.

And what’s the most widely renowned medical cure for anger? Why, baking some freakin’ cupcakes of course! (Disclaimer: I am not a doctor… yet.) And so after a hellish week I baked some dang cupcakes covered in delicious frosting to ease my stress. Are they healthy? HELL NO! Do I care? GET REAL! The only thing I care about right now is stuffing my face with cupcakes to energize for bus driver vigilante justice. Just kidding. But seriously. (Just kidding.)

Graham Cracker Cupcakes with Key Lime Cream Cheese Frosting, adapted from Ming Makes Cupcakes. Makes a dozen and a half.

1 cup flour
1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 stick unsalted butter, room temp.
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup milk
4 oz. cream cheese
1/2 stick butter, room temp.
2 cups powdered sugar
2 tbsp. lime juice

Mix flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, and salt. Beat in butter gradually. Beat in sugar and mix thoroughly. Beat in eggs, then vanilla and milk until just mixed. The batter will be a little lumpy. Pour into lined cupcake pan (I used silicone muffin liners because they are amazing). Bake at 400 for 17-20 minutes, or until toothpick comes out almost clean. Check often. While the cupcakes are in the oven, mix together the last four ingredients with an electric mixer until smooth and creamy. Stick frosting in the freezer for about ten minutes. When cupcakes have cooled, frost, sprinkle with crumbs, and top with a key lime wedge.

hello beautiful.

Hot pot of coffee. These. Cupcakes. Are. Amazing. Almost heavenly enough to make me forgive the public transportation system (…almost). The cake itself is incredibly moist and the graham cracker crumbs give it the perfect mellow honey taste. They’re sweet but not overpowering; without icing, they would make a perfect breakfast muffin. The frosting is absolutely delicious as well. I would, however, err on the side of less icing than more to let the graham cracker taste shine through. Other than that, pictures definitely speak louder than words:


About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to it’s freakin’ cupcake time

  1. Preston's Mom says:

    I could really use a Cup cake right now! Graham craker and cream chesse w/key lime, I never heard of such a scrumpcious cup cake. My son should worship the ground you walk on!

  2. Austin Metro Employee says:

    Nuthin’ like a hot cup of joe.

  3. aletheiazoe says:

    ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! I HAD THE EXACT SAME THOUGHTS TODAY!!! I literally told myself today at work that the world must be against me. It just must be. I told all my colleagues that God was making things complicated for me. Naturally they thought I was crazy. Unfortunately I didn’t have any muffin-bakers to vent to. You would have understood me, I’m sure. :P

  4. gardner says:

    I can only presume you intended me to sing this title to the tune of “Business Time” by the Conchords. “It’s cupcake: It’s cupcake tie-yime!”

Leave a Reply

