i eat food

Lots of it! And every day! And when I’m not eating it, I’m cooking it, or I’m reading about it, or I’m buying it. And when I’m not doing food-related things, I’m doing things that I can only do because I eat food — biking and learning and talking. Food is the lifeblood of our existence. (Technically blood is also, but go with me here.)

The point is, my life (and everyone else’s life) revolves around food. This used to (okay, sometimes still does) make me so uneasy, because we live in a culture that demonizes food, processes it until it is barely food anymore, and constantly tells us that we shouldn’t enjoy, love, or even need food. I’ve only recently learned to feed myself without feeling guilty or experiencing the compulsion to exercise off every calorie. But the more I cook, the more I realize how beautiful and amazing food is, and how thankful I am to simply be able to eat. And instead of counting everything I eat, I’ve started listening to my body, which usually tells me: Eat things that are green. Eat things that come from the ground and not from factories. Occasionally eat ice cream.

And the other night it told me to eat these tacos. And I did, and they were delicious. They were also crazy inexpensive (about $3 to serve 6), vegan, quick, minimally processed, pretty… should I go on or do you just want the recipe?

Black Bean Tacos. Approx. $3; serves 5-6. Adapted from Bon Appetit, February 2009.

2 15-ounce cans of black beans, drained (I’m going to do this with dry beans next time)
1 teaspoon ground cumin
some olive oil
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 cups chopped cabbage
2/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
8 corn tortillas
HOT SAUCE

Place beans and cumin in small bowl; partially mash. Mix 2 teaspoons olive oil and lime juice in another bowl; add cabbage and cilantro and toss to coat. Season slaw to taste with salt and pepper. Heat a little olive oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add tortillas in single layer. Spoon some of bean mixture onto half of each tortilla; cook 1 minute. Fold tacos in half. Cook until golden brown, about 1 minute per side. Fill tacos with slaw. Pass hot sauce alongside.


About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in entree and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i eat food

  1. Stacey says:

    Oh my gosh Natalie, these look soooo good. As in, I need some right now. Putting tacos in a skillet is such a good idea!! This is definitely
    a great recipe to jazz up black beans, the vegan staple :)

  2. Pingback: baba ghanoush and rosemary flatbread | The First Kitchen

  3. Pingback: a recipe for your first kitchen | The First Kitchen

Leave a Reply

