i have been busy

And when I haven’t been busy, I’ve been lethargic. I have recipes for you. I have so many wonderful recipes. But recipe-typing and recipe-related anecdotes take time and effort and love, most of which I don’t currently possess due to waking up early and hour-long bike rides in the Texas heat and whatnot. But alas, I have been cooking. And within the next few days, I’ll be back in full force. Until then, a glimpse into my recent culinary endeavors:

baked macaroni and cheese with sauteed broccoli/brussels/squash/carrots/mushrooms

french boule with homemade nutella... yes i said HOMEMADE NUTELLA

huevos rancheros with salsa fresca and black beans

chocolate sour cream cupcakes with homemade nutella frosting (my wonderful friend Jackson's birthday cupcake)

multigrain herb focaccia, a.k.a. the best thing you will ever put in your mouth. that is not what she said.

and last but certainly not least, cinnamon-infused cold-brewed iced coffee. oh girl no you didn't. oh girl yes i did.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in beverage, bread, dessert, entree and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to i have been busy

  1. Jessica Makin says:

    huevos rancheros! When you get time, I would love the recipe!

  2. Natalie's Closet says:

    Get your yeast out of me.

  3. Preston says:

    i miss your fooood!!!

  4. Lisa says:

    Yum! Homemade Nutella has been on my list of things to make this summer – did you use David Lebovitz’s recipe?

  5. Denise says:

    I have to say, your presentation is always beautiful! To me, when food is visually inviting it’s just as important as the aroma and flavors that lure my other senses. Do you do your own food-tography?

  6. Stacey says:

    I need the recipe for the tea!! Iced tea is my life!!

    • Stacey says:

      And by iced tea I mean coffee, still my life!

      • So simple! To make about 5 cups, use 2/3 c. course-ground coffee (if you’re fancy, blend 2 different types together for a more interesting flavor) and 1 1/2 c. water. Put them in a covered container overnight and let them coldbrew. The next morning, strain out the coffee grounds using a mesh strainer, twice. When you’re ready to serve it, dilute it with water so that it’s a 1-to-1 mixture. So perfect!

Leave a Reply

