doing random stuff in the kitchen

If I had a Food Network show, that would be the title. I’ve thought about it before in depth, even going so far as to narrate my cooking process in my head just in case I do end up on national TV. Of course, my food celebrity career always falls apart when I am forced to think of a theme to cook around. Asian? Well, I am, but I don’t really cook Asian foods. Italian? Well, I’m not, and there’s no way I could take down Giada in a carby cook-off. Vegetarian? Mostly, but there is a meatloaf in my fridge. But completely bizarre things that I happen to be in the mood for? That sounds more like my style.

Anyway, this is all a roundabout way of saying that this week, it’s rainy, everyone is out of town, and I have nothing to do but cook random things. Like eggs inside of tomatoes. And mustard.

Rando Recipe 1: Egg-Stuffed Tomatoes, adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Cut off the top of a tomato and scoop out all the guts. Add 1 spoonful of pesto, crack an egg into it, and then season. 400F oven for about 20 minutes. Sounds kind of weird but it’s actually pretty good and a simple, quick, healthy option.


Rando Recipe 2: Mustard

2/3 c. yellow mustard seeds
1/3 c. brown mustard seeds (you can adjust this ratio if you like your mustard more or less spicy. The brown seeds add a kick)
1 c. apple cider vinegar
1/2 c. water

Combine the ingredients and let soak overnight. After soaking, put them in the blender with 2 tablespoons of salt. NOTE: Don’t make this much unless you eat a lot of mustard. A half-batch is plenty.

Rando Recipe 3: Gazpacho, adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks, who is, by the way, the funniest cutest sweetest blogger in the world. She reminds me of my mommy.

4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 white or red onion, diced
1 cucumber, diced
3-4 tomatoes, diced
1 zucchini, diced
2 bell peppers, diced
salt (to taste)
1/4 gallons V8 or tomato juice
1/4 c. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1/8 c. red wine vinegar
2 tbsp. sugar
6 dashes Tabasco or hot sauce
black pepper to taste

In the bowl of a food processor or in a blender, combine the minced garlic with half the red onion, half the cucumber, half the tomato, half the zucchini, half the bell pepper, half the tomato juice, olive oil, red wine vinegar, sugar, Tabasco, and a dash of salt. Pulse until all ingredients are blended well; mixture will have a nice speckled, colorful texture. Pour into a large bowl and add the rest of the tomato juice, and half of the remaining onion, cucumber, tomato, zucchini, and bell peppers. (Reserve the rest of the diced vegetables for garnish.) Stir mixture together and check seasonings, adding salt if needed. Chill soup for at least a couple of hours; soup needs to be very cold!


Other boredom-week food experiments: chicken enchiladas, coconut cashew curry (coming soon!), and CHOCOLATE COBBLER NOM NOM NOM. Oh, I also learned how to poach an egg! Then thought “I bet I can do this in the microwave.” Then microwaved an egg, which burst and covered the inside of the microwave in tiny egg pieces. So don’t do that.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in entree, soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to doing random stuff in the kitchen

  1. aletheiazoe says:

    Girlfrienddd, the key to microwaving eggs is putting a lid on it. Then try again. It’s a miracle. I’m convinced this is how McDonald’s cooks all their egg McMuffins. Pure Genius.

    Whoooa I was just thinking about making my own mustard yesterday!! Dijon, please. Or honey mustard! YES! YES PASS THE MUSTARD!!

    Your gazpacho looks deLIIIIGHTFULLL (I say this in a singing voice.). You do the Pioneer Woman justice, save for the fact that she adds butterfly shrimp to hers and therefore rules. However, you made up for it by eating it with toast spread with homemade mustard. :-)

    xo Aletheia

    P.S. I dream of being on National TV for a food show segment too. I still don’t know what my title would be. Probably “Oops” or something.

  2. Elle says:

    I will admit, I was a bit skeptical about this recipe, but I added some shaved parmesan, and it turned out great! An awesome low-carb idea.

  3. Mariana says:

    Simply, aimdrable what you have done here. It is pleasing to look you express from the heart and your clarity on this significant content can be easily looked. Remarkable post and will look forward to your future update.

Leave a Reply

