Attention Austinites!

I’ve been looking into Austin Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) groups, and I really want to join one! Any suggestions? I’m leaning toward Johnson’s, but I’ve also checked out Greenling. Have any readers tried an Austin CSA? Let me know!

One of Johnson's biweekly CSA boxes: rainbow chard, arugula, sweet potatoes, bell peppers, serranos, curly endive, yellow squash, okra, eggplant, butternut squash, zucchini, cucumbers, green beans, and MORE!

 

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in advice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Attention Austinites!

  1. Shannon says:

    I’ve been a member of Johnson’s for a while now and have NEVER been disappointed. I do my pick-up Saturday mornings at the Farmer’s Market, and one of the things I really like about it is if you pick it up at the market, if there’s something in your box that you aren’t fond of you can switch it out for something you like! It’s really great! Also, if you pick it up at the market they let you pick one “freebie” item. Highly recommended!

    • Wow, that sounds great! I’m definitely leaning towards Johnson’s. Do you pick yours up at the Farmer’s Market downtown?

      • Shannon says:

        Yep, Saturday mornings. It’s really quick and painless. Everyone working the booth is pretty friendly. If you go for it, just make sure to bring your own bags. They like to recycle their boxes.

  2. Brianna says:

    I hadn’t heard of Johnson’s, but I know a girl who does some work with Greenling and she really loves it. But, from what she’s told me, I don’t think she gets as much choice in her selection of produce. You should join Slow Foods Texas! I’ve been going to the meetings and last week someone from sfc (sustainable food center) came to talk with us, which was really cool.

  3. sweetbutterbliss says:

    I would go with Johnsons. Greenlings tends to be more expensive and mostly just a middle man.

Leave a Reply

