12 Days of Cookbooks: Pan-fried Brussels Sprouts

I value minimalism.

all the ingredients except the lemon juice. because i use bottled lemon juice. so revoke my food blogger card.

During the holidays, it’s incredibly easy for my life–and my apartment–to get cluttered. I feel like I’m constantly rushing around, wrapping things up at school, shopping for gifts, baking cookies. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. But I also appreciate simplicity.

Which is why I was ecstatic when I saw that Stonesoup has published another free e-cookbook. All the recipes have five or fewer ingredients.

I made this recipe from her first free cookbook, which featured five-ingredient-or-less dishes that can be made in 10 minutes or less. These Brussels sprouts will turn every sprout doubter into a believer. The flavors are delicious, and if you follow her advice and peel off the outer dark green leaves, the cabbagey flavor is pretty muted (though I left them on because I like the stronger flavor). This recipe can easily be made vegetarian by omitting the bacon and replacing it with a little olive oil.


If the holidays feel like a blur and you’re feeling exhausted, make this dish. Spoon if over a bed of quinoa, sit on your couch, and listen to the dishwasher run or read a book or do anything except stare at the accumulating pile of scrap wrapping paper. Just relax — it’s easy to forget during this time of year, but sometimes less is more.

Pan-fried Brussels Sprouts. Adapted from Stonesoup. Serves 4 as a side dish, 2 as a main course.

1 lb. Brussels sprouts
3-4 slices bacon, chopped
2 large sprigs sage, leaves picked, optional
2 cloves garlic, finely sliced
squeeze of lemon juice

Trim the base of your sprouts and peel away the dark green outer leaves if you like. Take the trimmed sprouts and finely slice lengthwise into 4 or 5 slices.
Heat a small frying pan over a medium heat. Add a tablespoon of olive oil and allow to warm for a few seconds before adding the pancetta, spec or bacon. Cook for a minute or two and then add the trimmed sprouts, sage and garlic. Saute, stirring regularly for approximately 10 minutes or until the sprouts are starting to soften and take on a golden colour. Splash with lemon juice, add salt and pepper.

served on a bed of quinoa

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in side dish, vegetable, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 12 Days of Cookbooks: Pan-fried Brussels Sprouts

  1. Cupboard above the stairs says:

    “During the holidays, it’s incredibly easy for my life–and my apartment–to get cluttered”

    ………

  2. I love brussels sprouts! Your photos look delicious!

  3. Anastasia says:

    I made this for breakfast this morning. So good. I didn’t have sage and I had only frozen ones. But it was still super tasty. Thanks!

  4. the carnivore says:

    mmmmmm…..bacon

  5. Liz says:

    As soon as you turn 21 you and Preston should go to East Side King at Liberty Bar to get the veggie meshi and curry buns. They’re stupidly delicious.

    http://www.eastsidekingaustin.com/libertybar/

Leave a Reply

