salted fudge brownies

Though I’m not one of those people who are adamantly against Valentine’s Day because it’s a holiday that was invented for the sole purpose of profit, I try not to do typical Valentine’s Day money-spending things. Last year Preston and I ate P. Terry’s on map hill overlooking the Austin skyline and it was lovely. I appreciate the opportunity to celebrate the wonderful relationships I’ve been blessed with, but I don’t find it necessary to spend money to do so. So last night, Preston stayed in and made a seafood dinner.

avert your eyes, vegetarians


We started the meal with a cheese plate (smoked cheddar for him, bleu for me, because he “doesn’t like eating the bacteria.” Please, no one tell him what cheese is), and we ended it with these salted fudge brownies. The main course could have been pretty much anything but a Double-Down and I would have been happy (for the record, it was lemon-garlic and thyme-shallot grilled shrimp).

I bookmarked this brownie recipe a while ago, but have been looking for an excuse to make it recently. Lately I’ve been craving sweet things A LOT. I blame it on Plan II career week, which made me realize I should currently be studying abroad/interning/doing research/graduating/writing a thesis/going to grad school RIGHT NOW. I’m almost to the halfway point of my undergraduate career (knock on wood), and the closer I get to the end, the more I realize I don’t really know where I’m going to be after I graduate. I’m trying to view this uncertainty as an opportunity rather than just a scary situation, but the more I fail at doing that, the more stressed out I get.

Enter chocolate.

Chocolate brings out the good things in life. The important thing to remember is I have a wonderful family, fantastic friends, and a supportive boyfriend who will be there regardless of whether I end up as a tenured professor or a professional brownie-batter taster.

Make these brownies. Don’t be afraid of the salt — it’s not overwhelming in the slightest. Be adventurous and pick up some smoked salt, even. Share them with people you love, or eat them on the couch while watching episodes of The Office. Indulgence is good for you.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in advice, dessert, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to salted fudge brownies

  1. Liz says:

    Where’s Map Hill? Those look amazing…

    • It’s sort of behind the Long Center, in that grassy area, but not quite yet at Auditorium shores… there’s a huge hill and at the top is this sitting area that has a map of Texas on it. If you go there at night you get the most beautiful view of the Austin skyline. I’m probably explaining the location terribly haha.

  2. Liz says:

    Right where you walk into the Long Center to see a show? There are a bunch of pillars and fancy architecture?

  3. jackie says:

    chocolate and sea salt are freakin’ amazing together. i’ve also become fond of crushed red pepper and chocolate. mmm, chocolate.

  4. Liz says:

    I made ancho/chipotle brownies recently- they were amazing.

  5. Brianna says:

    Spring break = FINALLY had time to make these lovely brownies!
    SO INCREDIBLY TASTY!

  6. Pingback: I Won’t Tell You What I Made | bonafoodie

  7. Pingback: hazelnut brown butter cake | The First Kitchen

Leave a Reply

