smoky chipotle cilantro hummus

Can you believe it’s already March? I’ve finally adapted to writing “2011” at the top of my notes, but it’s still unbelievable that we’ve already put a huge chunk of the year behind us. I’ve enjoyed 2011 so far–my classes aren’t as (spiritually/emotionally/physically/psychologically) demanding as they were last year, I’ve been taking more time to relax, and I’m pretty happy with where I am in my life.

How have you been doing with your new year’s resolutions? Surprisingly, I normally keep up with mine, but this year has thrown me a few curveballs. For example…
-Completing my Study Abroad application: Well, this didn’t work out as planned. The London internship I’d hoped to get into filled up early, so now I’m going NEXT summer.
-Write 2 posts on the blog every week: HAHAHAha…
-Train for and run in at least 2 races: I actually found out this week that the 10K I’ve been training for during the past 8 weeks was CANCELLED. So, I’m on the hunt for a couple new ones.

The rest of my resolutions have been going well, though. I’ve been cutting out heavily processed foods by avoiding fast food and Diet Coke and eating more “whole foods.” One of the benefits of this resolution is that I have an excuse to make a huge batch of hummus for the week every Sunday night. I’ve been trying out different flavors (including peanut butter chocolate chip dessert hummus… surprisingly really delicious). Here’s one of the most successful flavors so far:

Smoky Chipotle Cilantro Hummus

1 can of chickpeas, rinsed, or ~2 c. cooked chickpeas (1/4 c. liquid reserved)
3-4 cloves of garlic
1/2 a bunch cilantro leaves, or about 3/4 c. packed
3 tbsp. tahini
2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 tbsp. lime juice
2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (you can find these near the canned enchilada sauce)
Cayenne pepper, salt, and black pepper to taste
A sprinkle of chipotle powder (optional)

Process in the food processor for a couple minutes, or use a blender. This is a thicker hummus, so process it for longer so you don’t get chunks. If it’s still too thick or chunky, add more tahini.

Serve with crudites, pita chips, or my new favorite snack, collard wraps.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in beans, side dish, snack, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to smoky chipotle cilantro hummus

  1. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti

  2. Haley Davis says:

    oooo I have made hummus before but it called for a lot of EVOO. Your recipe looks a lot better. What is tahini? And where can you buy it?

    • Yeah I’ve made it with more EVOO before but I’ve found I don’t miss it that much when I cut back on it. Tahini is basically peanut butter but made out of sesame seeds, not peanuts. I get it at HEB by the peanut butter or “natural foods” aisle but it will definitely be at Whole Foods.

  3. handsomeweightlifter09 says:

    ah so what you called “chocolate chip batter” was actually hummus….-.-‘~~~@

  4. jackie says:

    have you thought about the capitol 10k? it’s on march 27th. I just signed up last week so you’re way ahead of me as far as training goes. haha

  5. Liz says:

    What the hell do uncooked collard greens taste like?

  6. MK Scott says:

    There is no cilantro in your chipotle cilantro hummus! I feel duped! Is it just for garnish?

  7. oh, lime juice sounds like a lovely substitute for lemon juice. mmm this isnt just a hummus, its a YUMmus! hehe <3

  8. I keep meaning to look for a recipe for a chipotle hummus. There is a wine bar where my book club frequently meets that has an amazing ‘Texas Hummus’ that has a great chipotle flavor – I’m hoping yours tastes similar. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

