blue dahlia bistro review and giveaway winner!

Hello dear readers!

Today I want to talk about something I love (aside from food… though we will also talk about food). What I love, my friends, is frugality. I clip coupons on Sunday evenings; I buy the off-brand “mini spooners” instead of Kellogg’s shredded wheat; I subscribe to the FreeAtUT twitter feed. It’s not that I’m in poverty; I’m just saving up for important stuff, like a real camera and perhaps a bedframe. Sigh… someday.

But anywho, one of my favorite thrifty resources is the ENTERTAINMENT coupon book. My parents taught me of the value of the Entertainment coupon book long, long ago. This thing is like a goldmine for great deals, from shopping to restaurants to places like Main Event (what do you call those? Fun centers?). They’re about $20 but they always have deals like free shipping or $5 off. And they have about a bajillion coupons for half off meals and free tacos at Taco Smell (I donated those to the roomies) and cheap movie tickets.

 

The other night, Presto and I took our Entertainment coupon book to the East side for a nice dinner at Blue Dahlia Bistro, which is super classy (even though they have a half-naked lady on their homepage? Huh?) and still reasonably priced. I got the porcini ravioli with pesto and Preston got the four-cheese lasagna.

My ravioli was delicious. The pesto was really the star of the show — it’s so flavorful, and vegan!! All the meals came with mesclun greens and bread.

I loved Preston’s lasagna, and he liked it for the most part. It had cashews, which was a surprisingly tasty addition. However, it also had sooo many kalamata olives (which Preston hates). Seriously, there were layers of whole olives, and it seems like Blue Dahlia should mention it on the menu if it’s a primary ingredient that many people dislike.

We both were tempted to get the seared sashimi tuna steak, but ended up going with cheaper vegetarian options. I can’t wait to come back for brunch for some lazy Sunday morning… blueberry blintzes with homemade ricotta, homemade granola, and coffee, mmmm. Overall, I enjoyed the atmosphere of Blue Dahlia as well as the delicious food — and the half off coupon didn’t hurt either ;) Each meal, with the coupon, ended up being about $5 each + tip! Lesson to walk away with: buy an Entertainment coupon book. Go eat at Blue Dahlia.

Lastly, I have the results of the giveaway. The winner is…

Amanda from Something Savory! Congratulations Amanda! Email me and I’ll send you your $20 gift certificate.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in advice, entree, giveaway, restaurant review, side dish, vegan, vegetable, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to blue dahlia bistro review and giveaway winner!

  1. oh my goodness, i love blue dahlia! i have had almost all of the tartines and they are all fabulous. you must go back and try more things!

  2. I hate olives too, I don’t think I could have eaten that :-/ Your ravioli looks perfect and that salad and bread….YUM!

    • I know! Luckily, they were easy to pick off so it didn’t ruin the meal. Plus, the surprisingly wonderful addition of cashews in the lasagna made up for it. Can’t wait to try that next time I make veg lasagna :)

  3. Laura says:

    Ooh, I’m also not a big fan of olives. Surprising (and gross) that they’d put them in a lasagne! Still, sounds like Blue Dahlia is worth a look; I’m adding them to my “to do” list now. :)

  4. Su says:

    Wow, that looks really yummy, Natalie! I’ll have to try it… I’m plotting to do some exploring of Austin cafes this summer. I’ll put this one on my list!

  5. I’ve never heard of Blue Dahlia before, but I’m definitely going to give it a try. I love the restaurant reviews. I also tried the hippie sandwich at Shady Grove and loved it!

Leave a Reply

