sweet and simple: peanut butter sweet potatoes

**Sidenote and request: My Uncle Robert is a foodie in the true sense of the word. He’s taught me that fresh, local ingredients are the most delicious, and he always takes me to the best restaurants when I visit him in California. His favorite place on earth is Hawaii, and his stories of the beaches, cuisine, and friendly locals make me want to just pick up and move there. Click here to vote for him to win a trip to Hawaii, and the picture you see above could be a billboard in LA! You can vote once a day from Facebook. Thanks!

Everyone has their weird foods.

My grandma’s favorite snack is saltines with mayonnaise. Blech.

My mom went through a phase during which she ate frozen peas. Still frozen. From the freezer.

Once, an unnamed roommate (Jeff) consumed this:

marshmallows, chocolate chips, and peanut butter sandwiched between two nutty bars. no, he wasn't premenstrual.

Though my bizarre food favorites are admittedly hard to narrow down, if I had to choose one that garnered the most stares, it would be… peanut butter sweet potatoes.

a normal lunch... right?

This recipe is my ultimate go-to sweet comfort food (when I don’t have the time or effort to bake, of course). It sounds bizarre, but if you’re up late one night, say, watching LOST re-runs, give it a try. Roasting the potatoes really brings out their caramel sweetness, and the peanut butter complements the earthy flavors.

japanese sweet potatoes -- right one peeled, left one unpeeled. the edges of the peeled potato were much crispier after baking.

Peanut Butter Sweet Potatoes

1 sweet potato (This time, I used two small Japanese sweet potatoes. They’re purple!)
sprinkle of sea salt
sprinkle of cinnamon
1 tbsp. peanut butter

simple ingredients

Wash the sweet potato. Puncture it with a fork and either microwave it for 5 minutes or bake it for 40-45 minutes (I used the Hasselback method). Sprinkle it with salt and cinnamon, and spread peanut butter on top. If baking, put it back in the oven for about ten minutes so the PB melts over the sweet potato.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in 5 ingredients or less, dessert, side dish, snack, vegan, vegetable, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to sweet and simple: peanut butter sweet potatoes

  1. Su says:

    That does look really good! My husband would love it, too. Of course, he would also love Jeff’s creation.

  2. Uncle Robert says:

    Thanks for the side note Natalie! Peanut butter sweet potatoes. I’ll have to give that a try sometime. Hey, see you for your birthday in Sept.!

Leave a Reply

