spicy roasted sweet potato rounds

So the thing is, I haven’t really been cooking lately. At first, I blamed it on finals. Then, I blamed it on how busy I’ve been. Then, I realized I haven’t been busy. I’ve been doing all the things I can’t do when I have other obligations: reading fiction, writing, taking long walks, watching Trailer Park Boys highbrow documentaries, listening to music. It feels incredible. But I haven’t been cooking.

Usually, I love spending an hour of my day in the kitchen. It’s therapeutic. But lately, I’ve found that when I get hungry, I want to get in and out of the kitchen as quickly as possible. I’m sure everyone goes through these phases, and I’ve already started to miss my wooden spoons and cast-iron skillet. But until then, here’s a very simple dish to throw together. Roasting the sweet potatoes really allows their natural sugars to caramelize, and the cayenne provides a great spiciness to contrast against the sweetness.

Spicy Roasted Sweet Potato Rounds

1 sweet potato, washed and sliced into half-inch rounds
1 tsp. cinnamon
cayenne pepper to taste
kosher salt to taste
olive oil

Preheat the oven to 350F. Toss the sweet potato rounds in olive oil (or use cooking spray). Sprinkle the rounds with cinnamon, cayenne, and salt. Roast for 25-30 minutes.

P.S. Happy Holidays! I hope everyone is spending time with friends and family and loved ones. Give everyone big hugs.

P.S.S. If you have a few extra minutes, send a few encouraging words, jokes, and smiles to a sweet girl who deserves it. Emma is a 7-year-old who has survived several brain tumors and still shows off a bright smile. Click the link to send her a message.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in 5 ingredients or less, side dish, snack, vegan, vegetable, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to spicy roasted sweet potato rounds

  1. Amanda says:

    I will definitely have to try this out! nice pics, btw.

  2. Brianna says:

    I need to start throwing some cayenne and cinnamon on my sweet potato fries. I usually eat an entire baked sweet potato myself. Is that weird?

  3. I made sweet potato chips recently with the same combination of seasonings. It was sooo good. The rounds sound like they would be great in a wrap or on a salad. Yum.

Leave a Reply

