tofu scramble

I rarely make breakfast, but when I do, I don’t mess around. Making breakfast means leisure. If I have the time to make breakfast, it means that I’m not being assaulted by my responsibilities from all sides 24/7. I break out the French press. I sit down with a plate and a fork and possibly a book. I don’t half-ass breakfast.

But most of the time, I skip the most important meal of the day. Too often, I find myself biking to class with coffee in one hand hoping I don’t have to use the brakes. Sometimes I remember to throw an orange into my backpack. Most times not.

So in my attempts to balance a healthy lifestyle with my overcommitted, stressful, sleep-deprived reality, I’ve been trying out breakfast foods that are high-protein that don’t take forever to make. Eggs are always an option, but a beezy can’t live on eggs alone (thus saith the Lord). My go-to breakfast has become a tofu scramble. If you’re weary about tofu but like eggs, this is a good recipe to try–the tofu takes on the flavor of the spices and vegetables without the skeevy wet texture of scrambled eggs. Also, it’s vegan (cruelty-free!). Tofu scrambles also re-heat a lot better than eggs, so it’s great if you, say, have a physics test this week and can’t afford to cook longer than the 45 seconds it takes to stand next to a microwave.

Tofu Scramble. Serves 2-3.

1 block of tofu (I think 14 oz.?), drained and pressed
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 an onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped
1/2 a zucchini, chopped
a handful of sliced mushrooms
1-2 c. chopped greens (spinach works great)
Spices: I used 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. chipotle powder, and 1 tsp. turmeric, as well as salt and pepper. Combine in a small bowl.

Heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Saute veggies for 3-4 minutes. Add the mushrooms and tofu, crumbling the tofu with your hands. Cook for 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the spices and greens, then cook for another 3 minutes.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in breakfast, entree, gluten-free, vegan, vegetable, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to tofu scramble

  1. Sydney says:

    Nutritional yeast is every tofu scramble’s best friend.

Leave a Reply

