are you still doing that blog thing? + beet and citrus salad

Wow! I suck at blogging! I kvetched all semester about how I couldn’t maintain TFK because I had no free time, but I haven’t sat in a classroom in over a month and you’re still looking at pictures of muffins.

I went to Mt. Bonnell for the first time. It was incredible. I took a very small picture.

I am still doing this blog thing, I think. It’s obviously been on the back burner for a while, and will continue to be during the summer: I’m about to leave for Europe for six weeks. But I’m still going to try to post when I can, so stay tuned if you like looking at pictures of the food I eat both here and abroad.

I started watching Mad Men. It was boring. Mad Men parties, on the other hand, are wonderful.

Despite my absence from the blog, I’ve actually been relatively busy this summer. I haven’t had a summer to do whatever I want to do since middle school. In high school, I spent my summers at (nerd alert) debate camps; since college started, I’ve been working and going to school full time, all the time. These weeks of free time have been a very welcome change. Since classes ended, I’ve spent almost every day reading, playing pool, drinking, hanging out with friends, watching Community, going to movies in the park, hanging out in coffee shops, catching up with my parents, and neglecting to plan (hashtag) Europe Adventure 2012.

Mexican martinis occasionally bring tears to my eyes

Vegan early grey soft serve from Sweet Ritual

I drink iced coffee at least once a day now.

Once I also made a beet and citrus salad. Grapefruit is out of season now, but this would be incredible with blackberries and a blackberry vinaigrette.

Beet and Citrus Salad (serves one)

I don’t have a recipe for this. Basically, I roasted a beet (wash it, wrap it in foil, roast at 450 for 30-40 minutes, peel, slice). Then, I made a salad out of green things, walnuts, red peppers, the beet, an avocado, and grapefruit. Then, I made a vinaigrette using grapefruit juice, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil. The end.

About Natalie (The First Kitchen)

I like to eat lots of plants, bake cookies, and explore Austin.
This entry was posted in entree, fruit, my life, photos, salad, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to are you still doing that blog thing? + beet and citrus salad

  1. This might be the first thing I make when I get back from Italy. I did not think it was possible to have too much prosciutto and cheese, but it kind of is. Avocados and fresh vegetables for the rest of the summer!

Leave a Reply

